• Linkedin
  • Reddit

Summary :

what does reset network settings do

Sometimes, you are required to reset network settings. However, do you know what does reset network settings do. Well, MiniTool would show you what does reset network settings do on iPhone, Android, and Windows respectively in this post.

Quick Navigation :

What Does Reset Network Settings Do

Resetting network settings would remove all stored Internet and networking-related data on the devices. Information about VPN, Ethernet, Bluetooth, cellular could be erased in the process of resetting. Fortunately, settings like hotspot, wireless display, and AirDrop (on iOS) will be untouched.

In this section, we will show you what does reset network settings do on iPhone, Android, and Windows one by one. You can read the specific part according to your situation.

time synchronization failed thumbnail
Windows 10 Time Synchronization Failed – 6 Solutions

What to do when the time synchronization failed error occurs? Well, this post provides you with 6 effective solutions to it. Try them now!

Read More

iPhone

What does reset network settings do on iPhone? After you reset network settings iPhone11, settings like Wi-Fi passwords, virtual private networks, cellular settings, and even Bluetooth settings will be erased. Though you are asked to set those settings again before using them, this operation is still preferred by many users.

Tip: The Reset Network Settings feature is supported by iOS 14/13/12 and iPhone 12/11/X.

It is because that this operation is useful for solving issues like iPhone network not working, Wi-Fi not working, not connecting to a Wi-Fi network, no service, iMessage not working, iPhone not syncing, etc. To reset network settings iPhone11, open Settings > tap General > click Reset > click Reset Network Settings twice to confirm the operation.

Android

Like iPhone, resetting Android network settings brings Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, VPN, and cellular connections to the original state. If you want to use them again, you need to establish them from the very beginning. Even so, it is better to reset network settings iPhone11 instead of formatting your mobile phone or tablet.

To reset network settings on Android, find and click Settings > System > Advanced > Reset options > Reset network settings > click Reset Settings. This tutorial works on Android 11/10/9.0 Pie.

Windows

On Windows, the network reset operation restores all the network-related features and settings to their original values. The settings include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, VPN, network adapters, and Ethernet as well.

Tip: The original or default values mean the values displaying in a new computer or after a factory reset where the settings are untouched.

Then you need to re-connect the network and type the password to use the network again. Pay attention to that the customized changes like the metered connection and changing DNS on Wi-Fi networks will lose after the resetting operation. Hence, back up your Wi-Fi details before network reset.

In addition to that, you are required to set Ethernet, pair Bluetooth, and establish VPNs from scratch as well before using them. To rese network settings on Windows, open Settings > click Network & Internet > find and click Network Reset > click Reset Now.

Also read: How to Reset Network Settings Windows 10 (the Influence)

Why Reset Network Settings

As learned from the above, you will lose some information after resetting network settings. For instance, Wi-Fi names and passwords, network login information, and information on any paired hardware like speakers and headphones could be removed. To be short, this operation erases all stored Internet and networking-related data on your devices.

Why do you need to reset network settings? Actually, this operation can help you resolve plenty of issues related to Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or VPN. In a nutshell, resetting network settings is useful for solving various network connection issues.

Is There Any Alternatives to Network Reset

Since resetting network settings results in Internet and network-related data loss, you’d better try some other methods to fix network connection issues before performing a network reset. For example, you can restart your device, turn Airplane Mode on and off again, check your Internet on another device, reboot your modem and router, update your system to the latest one, etc.

Bottom Line

What does reset all settings do? It equals to a factory reset. All the settings will be restored to the default state. What does reset network settings do? This post has explained that in detail.

  • Linkedin
  • Reddit

User Comments :